top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVicky

It's ... week 3?

Updated: Feb 5, 2020

I cannot believe I'm already into my final week in Accra. I also can't believe I haven't written in here for so long -- the time has whipped by, as I've been head down and working. I did get out at weekends to see some of the sights (I posted about those over on Instagram), but otherwise it's been pretty intense and focused -- in a good way. I've got a few reports to wrap up, and maybe some edits to make on the Women in Engineering website, and a speaking engagement (!) tomorrow (pictures to come!), but the end is in sight.


And as we're drawing toward that end, with the perspective that brings, I'm starting to mull over what this experience has taught me:

  • That supporting other people in a worthwhile endeavour can feel pretty good. Maybe that's a selfish reason for volunteering, but it makes me want to do it again.

  • That maybe I can trust myself and my own abilities. Before I came on this trip, I wasn't particularly worried about coming to West Africa, or being alone here for 3 weeks, or even getting malaria... Honestly, I was most worried about the job and that I'd let everyone down and they'd come to feel they'd made a massive mistake choosing me. But in retrospect, I have to thank whoever did look over my resume and decide I was the right person for the job and picked me. I just hope I've been of some use.

  • Being woken up by a rooster, especially the cute, croaky, impatient little rooster next door, rocks.

  • That everything will work out if I just let go and stop worrying.

  • As the young man who drove me to the Cape Coast this weekend said about himself, and I found myself agreeing: I like adventure, but not risk.

  • That having the time to focus on one thing is important. I gave myself a lot to do over these 3 weeks, but I literally had one job during that time. In my day-to-day job at CMAJ (which I love, make no mistake), I jump from one thing to another at light speed. I like variety but not at a pace that makes me frazzled and anxious. When I get home, I plan to take time. Slow down. Less stress, fewer mistakes, fewer do-overs.

  • I'm not such a loner as I sometimes think I am. I've met fantastic, kind, generous people here, but I've missed my guy and home and my friends (... and snow. Seriously).

So here's to the last few days. I'll check in again soon, I swear!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

It begins.

A couple of weeks ago, I was blown away to learn that I've been chosen as one of the Canadian Medical Association Leave for Change volunteers for 2019/2020. In January 2020, I'll be heading to Accra i

bottom of page